Top 10 Summer Travel Essentials

Packing and unpacking has always been my least favorite thing to do, but in the past couple of years I’ve nearly gotten it down to an art. I just got back from a week long trip to New York/New Jersey/Maine/New Hampshire with Brian (lots of planes, trains, and automobiles), and realized I forgot a couple of essentials. I usually take the time to write out a list so I don’t forget anything, but this time I waited until the last minute and just started packing (which is the worst thing you can do, you’ll always over-pack). In any case, I figured I’d take the opportunity to share my top 10 summer travel essentials with you all, and remind myself of them as well.

  1. Travel Ballet Flats by Tory Burch ($225): My rule of thumb is always travel with shoes in a neutral color. Another great brand is Tieks (with their signature blue sole), which retail for around $175. If you’re really fancy, go for Chanel, and buy me a pair in 37.5 while you’re at it?! 🙂
  2. Organic Suncare Kit by COOLA ($40): This Kit has their bestselling suncare products in water-resistant, TSA-approved, carry-on sizes. You should always be wearing sun protection, and this brand is my favorite. I’ve never broken out using it, and it doesn’t sting when I sweat.
  3. Wunder Under Pant (High-rise) by Lululemon ($98): I seriously live in these (I may or may not have them in like five colors), and wouldn’t travel any other way. Need to go through security? As they say, yoga pants, drunk people, and children are always honest. Plus, there’s a hidden pocket in the back (perfect for your iPhone and a credit card when you want to go purse-less.
  4. Le Pliage Travel Bag by Longchamp ($255): This will forever be my favorite travel bag. Personally, the ‘gun metal’ color is my go-to. It matches with everything, and I love the leather details. It’s a bit pricey, but I’ve had mine for years with no problems (always chic and durable).
  5. Scarf by Kate Spade ($118): It’s always lovely to wrap up in a scarf while you’re on a long flight or train ride. I tend to gravitate toward Kate Spade scarves because they’re the perfect size, and you can almost always find a nice print.
  6. Honeysuckle Lotion by Barr-Co ($20): Formulated with aloe, shea butter and colloidal oatmeal, this therapeutic emulsion soothes irritated and itchy skin while helping maintain moisture. Airplanes always dry out my skin, so I’ve made a habit of traveling with this stuff. I don’t usually pack my perfume, so this sort of doubles with its nice honeysuckle scent.
  7. Handheld Garment Steamer by SALAV ($25): I never use hotel irons. I know they’re great for men, but once in New Orleans I literally burned a hole in one of my favorite shirts. Ever since, I’ve always traveled with a little mini steamer. This one isn’t great for everyday use (I’ve got a big industrial one for that), but is small and easy to pack. In a pinch though, you can sometimes hang whatever needs to be steamed in the bathroom while you take a hot shower.
  8. Jewelry Case by Hudson + Bleecker ($60): I used to put all my jewelry in a small pocket of my carry-on. After spending 15+ minutes untangling my jewelry and digging around the bag for a missing earring, I’ve invested in a solution. This cute case keeps all my favorite pieces organized and easily accessible, and I’m obsessed with the tassel (obvi)!
  9. Water bottle by S’well ($35): This stainless steel water bottle keeps things cold for 24 hours and hot for 12. I’ve left my bottle filled with cold water in a hot car for a few hours, and still cannot believe I come back to ice cold water. I have the 17oz bottle in ‘opal,’ but there’s lots of others to choose from as well. Fun fact: the 25oz holds an entire bottle of wine!
  10. GoToob by HumanGear ($7/each): I’m fine using just about any shampoo, but loyal to Pureology hydrate light conditioner. I find the travel sized shampoo/conditioner sets for any brand to be over priced (and hard to get all the product out of), so I’d much rather buy my usual liter and pack a GoToob of it for travel or my gym bag. A friend gave me three of these as a gift about five years ago, and I haven’t needed to replace them yet! They’re made out of durable silicon, and are essentially leak proof.

Hope my top 10 summer travel essentials were helpful! Leave me a comment and let me know where you’re traveling next, and what you can’t live without.

Leave a comment