7 Favorite San Francisco Restaurants

San Francisco is 7 miles by 7 miles, so I’ve put together my favorite 7 restaurants in the city. Each restaurant is in a different neighborhood, and I highly recommend exploring them all.

Mission Beach Cafe (Mission – 198 Guerrero Street)

Favorite 7 San Francisco Restaurants_MissionBeachCafe.jpg

Brunch is my favorite meal, and these folks do not disappoint. It’s one of the most underrated restaurants in San Francisco, yet there’s generally an hour or two wait on weekends. Words cannot even describe how amazing their Dungeness Crab and Bay Shrimp Benedict tastes. Also, they serve mimosas in giant goblets and you can order bacon by the plate!

Insider tip: We usually order a coffee while we wait and explore the Mission a bit. If you get a drip coffee, keep the cup and they’ll keep refilling it for you when you sit down.

Café de la Presse (Union Square – 352 Grant Avenue)

Favorite 7 San Francisco Restaurants_cafedelapresse

Brian and I had our first date here, so I’m a little biased. I told him that it’s hard to find authentic soupe l’oignon in the United States, and he set out to prove me wrong. He was of course right, and it’s still the only restaurant I’ll get it at (will have to share my recipe with you all soon). They have the best lattes in the city (in my humble opinion), and a plethora of French magazines and newspapers flown in daily for sale. I generally avoid Union Square restaurants, but this one is my exception to the rule.

Burma Superstar (Inner Richmond – 309 Clement Street)

Favorite 7 San Francisco Restaurants_GarlicNoodles.jpg

Two words for you… COCONUT RICE. Last time we went, I ordered three servings for two people and I think I got judged a bit. They have an authentic tea leaf salad that they actually go to Burma to get ingredients for. The garlic noodles and the mango shrimp are my favorite entrees (aside from eating ALL of the coconut rice), but you cannot go wrong with anything on their menu. Bonus points for having a creative cocktail menu as well. They generally have a long wait time, but I promise it’s well worth your time.

Jane on Fillmore (Pacific Heights – 2123 Fillmore Street)

Favorite 7 San Francisco Restaurants_BakedEggs
Borrowed image from Jane’s website to do it justice

My favorite early morning breakfast spot. I don’t know what it is about this area of Pac Heights, but the whole street is just more beautiful in the morning light. I love to wake up early on a Sunday morning and read The New York Times from one of the tables near the window. They make delicious spicy baked eggs (among many other things), which are baked to perfection in a chunky tomato and black bean sauce with cheese and served with a slice of house made bread. When I’m feeling extra decadent, I’ll add a mocha to that mix. Sometimes they have bread pudding on the menu, which is seriously the best I’ve ever had. There’s always a line out the door though, even on a random Monday morning.

Insider tip: It’s a fantastic shopping area, so be sure to schedule a little time to browse.

Sotto Mare (North Beach – 552 Green Street)

Favorite 7 San Francisco Restaurants_cioppino
Photo borrowed from Saveur

North Beach is the Italian neighborhood of San Francisco, with the Italian flag painted on all the street posts and light poles. Back in the day, the Italian fisherman would combine their leftover catch with wine and tomatoes to make a seafood stew called cioppino. Today, it’s known as a San Francisco classic, and Sotto Mare makes the best. They sell lesser quality (and more expensive) versions in Fisherman Wharf, but I’d actually recommend avoiding that area altogether.

Insider Tip: Sotto Mare’s cioppino is so good, it was actually featured in Saveur. Here’s their recipe if you’d like to try making it at home!

Hog Island Oyster Company (Embarcadero – 1 Ferry Building, 11A)

I adore visiting the Ferry Building on a Saturday morning, exploring the farmers market and all of the specialty vendors selling jewelry, clothing, and souvenirs throughout the Embarcadero. The whole area comes alive, and is fantastic people watching (and great water views).

Brian and I buy a bouquet of fresh flowers, maybe a couple of jams or spreads, and then head over to Hog Island for fresh oysters on the half-shell and the most delicious spicy Bloody Mary I’ve ever tasted. We love their seafood stew, sandwiches, and pretty much anything on their menu day or night, but is it socially acceptable to order a Bloody Mary past brunch if you’re not at the airport?

Tenroku Sushi (Japantown – 1825 Post Street, Suite 215)

Favorite 7 San Francisco Restaurants_TenrokuSushi

There are delicious sushi places all over San Francisco, but my personal favorite is this little gem located in the heart of Japantown. It’s a tiny space (maybe 15 or so seats) with a rotating conveyer belt of sushi. In the middle you’ll see chefs breaking down fresh fish and consistently creating unique rolls. Each plate is a different color, and there’s a diagram showing the cost. It’s very affordable at $3-8 for each plate with 2-4 pieces. They also have a menu if you prefer to sit at a table away from the bar.

Favorite 7 San Francisco Restaurants_flag
One of the many Italian Flags of North Beach
Favorite 7 San Francisco Restaurants_ferrybuilding
Saturday morning at the Ferry Building
Favorite 7 San Francisco Restaurants_bayareabikeshare
Bijoux and me on a bike ride along the Embarcadero

 

Hope you enjoyed reading about my 7 favorite San Francisco restaurants! Leave me a comment with your favorites.

One response to “7 Favorite San Francisco Restaurants”

  1. Cannot wait for my visit! Sounds exciting and yummy!

    Like

Leave a comment